Barging Round Britain

Book Barging Round Britain

Barging Round Britain Book Details:

  • Publisher : Penguin UK
  • ISBN-13 : 0718180658
  • Page : 320 pages
  • Rating : 4.5/5 from 658 voters

Barging Round Britain Book Summary/Review:

Barging Round Britain by David Bartley is a beautifully-illustrated guide to a unique and fascinating part of our history: the canal network. Explore the people and places that have forged this national treasure, from the birth of the Industrial Revolution to the leisure explosion on our waterways today. Fully-illustrated with maps and photographs, the book will trace canal routes across the UK, from the Georgian grandeur of Bath to the dramatic splendour of the Scottish Highlands. This is the official tie-in to the ITV series, coming to prime-time TV in January 2015. David Bartley's Barging Round Britain includes a foreword and chapter introductions by the presenter of the TV series, John Sergeant.

More Books:

Barging Round Britain
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: John Sergeant
Categories: Transportation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-02-12 - Publisher: Penguin UK

Barging Round Britain by David Bartley is a beautifully-illustrated guide to a unique and fascinating part of our history: the canal network. Explore the people
Britain's Best Canal Journeys
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: David Bartley
Categories: Boats and boating
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-02-03 - Publisher: Michael Joseph

Barging Round Britain by David Bartley is a beautifully-illustrated guide to a unique and fascinating part of our history: the canal network. Explore the people
Britain's Canals
Language: en
Pages: 96
Authors: Nick Corble
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-11-15 - Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

An accessible introduction to Britain's Canals and why they are so important today as a leisure pursuit.
People of Today 2017
Language: en
Pages: 2000
Authors: Lucy Hume
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10-05 - Publisher: eBook Partnership

Established in 1982, People of Today annually recognises over 20,000 individuals who are positively influencing Britain and inspiring others through their achie
Three Women and a Boat
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Anne Youngson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-12 - Publisher: Random House

Tender and humorous novel of second chances and life-changing new friendship from the author of Meet Me at the Museum. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce, Clare C
Racing Around Britain
Language: en
Pages: 332
Authors: Stephen Cartmell
Categories: Horse racing
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-01-02 - Publisher: Aesculus Press Ltd

As relief from his lecturing duties, Stephen Cartmell set off to explore Britain using the cultural melting pot of the U.K. 's 59 racecourses as his staging pos
Britain, America and Anti-Communist Propaganda 1945-53
Language: en
Pages: 312
Authors: Andrew Defty
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-12-02 - Publisher: Routledge

In the Cold War battle for hearts and minds Britain was the first country to formulate a coordinated global response to communist propaganda. In January 1948, t
The Romans in Britain
Language: en
Pages: 136
Authors: Howard Brenton
Categories: Drama
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-05-21 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

First staged at London's National Theatre in 1980, having been commissioned by Peter Hall, The Romans in Britain contrasts Julius Caesar's Roman invasion of Cel
Theatre Censorship in Britain
Language: en
Pages: 212
Authors: H. Freshwater
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-04-08 - Publisher: Springer

This exploration of the wide variety of censorship that has shaped theatrical performance in twentieth and twenty-first century Britain examines the unpredictab
Britain
Language: en
Pages: 246
Authors: Mass Observation
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-04-19 - Publisher: Faber & Faber

Britain, although not the first Mass Observation title, was the one that made its name. Britain was published as Penguin Special and is reported as selling over