Creativity, Inc.

Book Creativity, Inc.

Creativity, Inc. Book Details:

  • Publisher : Random House
  • ISBN-13 : 0812993012
  • Page : 368 pages
  • Rating : 4.5/5 from 012 voters

Creativity, Inc. Book Summary/Review:

From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington Post • Financial Times • Success • Inc. • Library Journal Creativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativity—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.” For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable. As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his co-founding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as: • Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better. • If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead. • It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them. • The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them. • A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.

More Books:

Creativity, Inc.
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Ed Catmull
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-08 - Publisher: Random House

From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativi
Creativity, Inc.
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Ed Catmull
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-08 - Publisher: Random House

From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativi
Creativity, Inc
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Edwin E. Catmull
Categories: Creative ability in business
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014 - Publisher:

"Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, a
Creativity, Inc.
Language: en
Pages: 340
Authors: Ed Catmull
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-08 - Publisher:

Creativity Inc.
Language: en
Pages: 121
Authors: Rittik Chandra
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-02-06 - Publisher: BookRix

"Creativity Inc." provides an outstanding analysis of the process that is useful to any person who is attempting to enhance organizational or personal creativit
Creativity, Inc.
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Ed Catmull
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-08 - Publisher: Random House

Lessons in creativity and business from the president of Pixar and Disney Animation _____________________________________________________________ 'Just might be
Summary: Creativity, Inc.
Language: en
Pages: 9
Authors: BusinessNews Publishing
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-07-01 - Publisher: Must Read Summaries

The must-read summary of Ed Catmull and Amy Wallace's book: "Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces that Stand in the Way of True Inspiration". This com
Creativity Inc.: by Ed Catmull | Conversation Starters
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: dailyBooks
Categories: Study Aids
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-09-06 - Publisher:

Creativity Inc.: by Ed Catmull | Conversation Starters A Brief Look Inside: Ed Catmull, President of Pixar and Walt Disney Animation Studios, shares his perspec
Creativity, Inc.: By Ed Catmull (Trivia-On-Books)
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Trivion Books
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-12-24 - Publisher:

Trivia-on-Book: Creativity, Inc. by Ed Catmull & Amy Wallace You may have read the book, but not have liked it. You may have liked the book, but not be a fan. Y
Creativity, Inc. by Ed Catmull: A 30-minute Summary
Language: en
Pages: 145
Authors: Instaread Summaries
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-10-21 - Publisher: Instaread Summaries

PLEASE NOTE: This is a summary of the book and NOT the original book. Creativity, Inc. by Ed Catmull: A 30-minute Summary Inside this Instaread Summary:Overview