The Penguin Lessons

Book The Penguin Lessons

The Penguin Lessons Book Details:

  • Publisher : Michael Joseph
  • ISBN-13 : 9781405921800
  • Page : 300 pages
  • Rating : 4.5/5 from 800 voters

The Penguin Lessons Book Summary/Review:

*AS HEARD ON BBC RADIO 2 FACT NOT FICTION BOOKCLUB* 'I was hoping against hope that the penguin would survive because as of that instant he had a name, and with his name came the beginning of a bond which would last a life-time' Tom Michell is in his roaring twenties: single, free-spirited and seeking adventure. He has a plane ticket to South America, a teaching position in a prestigious Argentine boarding school, and endless summer holidays. He even has a motorbike, Che Guevara style. What he doesn't need is a pet. What he really doesn't need is a pet penguin. Set against Argentina's turbulent years following the collapse of the corrupt Perónist regime, this is the heart-warming story of Juan Salvador the penguin, rescued by Tom from an oil slick in Uruguay just days before a new term. When the bird refuses to leave Tom's side, the young teacher has no choice but to smuggle it across the border, through customs, and back to school. Whether it's as the rugby team's mascot, the housekeeper's confidant, the host at Tom's parties or the most flamboyant swimming coach in world history, Juan Salvador transforms the lives of all he meets - in particular one homesick school boy. And as for Tom, he discovers in Juan Salvador a compadre like no other... The Penguin Lessons is a unique and moving true story which has captured imaginations around the globe - for all those who dreamed as a child they might one day talk to the animals.

More Books:

The Penguin Lessons
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: Tom Michell
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-06-16 - Publisher: Michael Joseph

*AS HEARD ON BBC RADIO 2 FACT NOT FICTION BOOKCLUB* 'I was hoping against hope that the penguin would survive because as of that instant he had a name, and with
The Penguin Lessons
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Tom Michell
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-10-27 - Publisher: Ballantine Books

A unique and moving real-life story of the extraordinary bond between a young teacher and a penguin, this book will delight readers who loved Marley & Me, Dewey
The Penguin Lessons
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Tom Michell
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-11-05 - Publisher: Penguin UK

*AS HEARD ON BBC RADIO 2 FACT NOT FICTION BOOKCLUB AND READ BY BILL NIGHY ON AUDIO* 'I was hoping against hope that the penguin would survive because as of that
Penguin Who Came in Fro (Air/Exp
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: Tom Michell
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-12-01 - Publisher: Michael Joseph

The Fairy Penguin's Lesson and Other Tales
Language: en
Pages: 44
Authors: Peter Hunt
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-11-30 - Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

Readers of The Fairy Penguin's Lesson & Other Tales will find three endearing children's stories involving Australian animals. You'll meet Patrick the Pompous P
First Language Lessons for the Well-trained Mind
Language: en
Pages: 552
Authors: Jessie Wise
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008 - Publisher: Peace Hill Press

This simple-to-use scripted guide to grammar and composition makes successful teaching easy for both parents and teachers. It uses the classical techniques of m
A Guide for Using Mr. Popper's Penguins in the Classroom
Language: en
Pages: 48
Authors: Rebecca Paigen
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 1997 - Publisher: Teacher Created Resources

The Journal of Aesthetic Education
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories: Aesthetics
Type: BOOK - Published: 1989 - Publisher:

Includes special issues.
Learning with Children’s Melodies/Aprende con Melodías Infantiles
Language: en
Pages: 120
Authors: Yvette T. Barrett
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-04-07 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

The focus of Learning with Children’s Melodies/Aprende con Melodías Infantiles is to recognize the need to transition children of Hispanic heritage into an E
Simple Lessons from Nature
Language: en
Pages: 131
Authors: Mary Cordelia Emily Leigh
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 1889 - Publisher: