The Sixth Extinction

Book The Sixth Extinction

The Sixth Extinction Book Details:

  • Publisher : Henry Holt and Company
  • ISBN-13 : 0805099794
  • Page : 336 pages
  • Rating : 4.5/5 from 794 voters

The Sixth Extinction Book Summary/Review:

ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR A major book about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and field reporting into a powerful account of the mass extinction unfolding before our eyes Over the last half a billion years, there have been five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In The Sixth Extinction, two-time winner of the National Magazine Award and New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert draws on the work of scores of researchers in half a dozen disciplines, accompanying many of them into the field: geologists who study deep ocean cores, botanists who follow the tree line as it climbs up the Andes, marine biologists who dive off the Great Barrier Reef. She introduces us to a dozen species, some already gone, others facing extinction, including the Panamian golden frog, staghorn coral, the great auk, and the Sumatran rhino. Through these stories, Kolbert provides a moving account of the disappearances occurring all around us and traces the evolution of extinction as concept, from its first articulation by Georges Cuvier in revolutionary Paris up through the present day. The sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy; as Kolbert observes, it compels us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human.

More Books:

The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Elizabeth Kolbert
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-02-11 - Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR A major book about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and fiel
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 271
Authors: Richard E. Leakey
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 1996 - Publisher: Anchor

Chronicling five times in the history of the earth in which more than half of all living species disappeared in a geological instant, a geological study states
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 32
Authors: Instaread
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-15 - Publisher: CreateSpace

PLEASE NOTE: This is key takeaways and analysis of the book and NOT the original book. The Sixth Extinction: by Elizabeth Kolbert | Key Takeaways, Analysis & Re
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Terry Glavin
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-06-10 - Publisher: Macmillan

The Sixth Extinction is a haunting account of the age in which we live. Ecologists are calling it the Sixth Great Extinction, and the world isn't losing just it
Summary and Analysis of The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History
Language: en
Pages: 30
Authors: Worth Books
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-02-14 - Publisher: Open Road Media

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of The Sixth Extinction tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Elizabeth Kolbert’s bo
The Sixth Extinction: by Elizabeth Kolbert | Key Takeaways, Analysis & Review
Language: en
Pages: 32
Authors: Instaread
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-09-15 - Publisher: Instaread Summaries

The Sixth Extinction: by Elizabeth Kolbert | Key Takeaways, Analysis & Review Preview: The Sixth Extinction is a book by award winning journalist, Elizabeth Kol
The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History...Summarized
Language: en
Pages: 29
Authors: J.J. Holt
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-03-10 - Publisher: J.J. Holt

This is a summary of The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History...Summarized by J.J. Holt
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 64
Authors: Elizabeth Kolbert
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-03-11 - Publisher: CreateSpace

WARNING: This is not the actual book The Sixth Extinction by Elizabeth Kolbert. Do not buy this Summary, Review & Analysis if you are looking for a full copy of
The Sixth Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: James Rollins
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-08-28 - Publisher: Hachette UK

The NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author returns with a gripping, high-concept adventure thriller in the Sigma Force series - for fans of Dan Brown and Michael Cri
The 6th Extinction
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: James Rollins
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-08-12 - Publisher: William Morrow

In a masterful epic that combines timeless mystery and ripped-from-the-headlines scientific intrigue, New York Times bestselling author James Rollins takes huma